Snow, Wind and Fear

titleNow, Japan is in the oven. Very hot. Japan’s summer is so hard. Hot temperature, humid air and Typhoon. Especially, this summer is really hot. So I love Winter.

This story is the winter hiking that I experienced in this March. I love Winter because of chilly temperature, silent and white snow. However, this time. I experienced fear of Winter.

_MG_3762

2 March. 21 PM. I was Shinjuku station and waiting to ride “Azusa” to go to Nagano. “Azusa” is the express that many people use to come and go between Nagano and Tokyo. It is a very useful train. However, there were few people because of late at night. Basically, this train needs a reservation. I had the huge hiking backpack and the camera gear, so I put it on the seat next to me. I knew that seat was an empty. Then the train moved smoothly.

_MG_3775

23 PM. I arrived Okaya station that is beside Suwa lake (諏訪湖), Nagano. The air was chilly and pitch darkness surrounded everything. I remembered Tokyo was always bright, hot and noisy.

_MG_3788
The forest road was covered by snow.

This time, I had a companion. My friend Abe. We gathered at Okaya station and rented the car to go to the trail head. There was icy snow and completely dark. We carefully drove the car into this dark and bumpy forest road.

We parked the car near the “Sakura-daira (桜平)” and slept until morning.

_MG_3800

5:00 AM. We woke up in the car. The temperature of outside was almost -10℃ so everything was freezing. We prepared the hiking. Made boiled water. Ate breakfast and wore a winter jacket and boots.  Then we started to walk on the snow road.

_MG_3801

6:17 AM. We arrived Natuzawa spring lodge (夏沢鉱泉). I guess many people use this lodge as a base camp.

We took a rest little bit and wrote a paper that is called “Tozan-Todoke (登山届)”. It is one of permission to enter the mountain. Basically, it is required to write the detail of your hiking plan. For example, the number of people, how long stay in the mountain and which route you will walk.

_MG_3806

Stood in front of the building, we could see snow covered mountains in the distance. I guessed, that is “Hida mountains (also called north alps)”.

We continued to hike to the mount Io.

_MG_3814

7:15 AM. We arrived “Oren lodge”. Basically, this lodge was closed in winter. But there was unlocked door because of emergency use as shelter.

_MG_3824

8:00 AM. We arrived the “Natsuzawa gap (夏沢峠)”.  This was 2,430 m elevation and the tree line was almost there. The strong wind was always blowing and the temperature was really, really low.  But the weather was good.

Sorry, I have no photo from “Natsuzawa gap” to “mount Io”. Because I had some trouble. However, I could take a video and you can see what happen to me at that time. I linked that video on the bottom of this post.

We put the crampon and wore a wind jacket and glove. And then, we walked through the pine tree area. There was no trace. So we had to dig the snow to make the trace. It was very hard.

We passed through the forest, there was rocky and icy world. The wind was getting stronger. There was the world that no one can live.

The slope was really steep and the wind was so strong. The scenery was changing from snow to rocky surfaces. If I stumble over a stone or something, I would fall down and die.  There was so dangerous.

Then, I felt something strange. I heard some noise when I walked on the rock. I looked my foot. My crampon was put off from my boots. I couldn’t understand what was happening. There was the steep rocky surface with strong wind. The temperature was almost -15 ℃ to -20 ℃. I had to take off the glove otherwise I couldn’t fix the crampon. However, If I dropped the glove, it will be blown away by strong wind. And it would be caused frostbite. It was really, really dangerous situation.

I tried to fix the crampon again and again. But I couldn’t. So we gave up to go to the summit of mount Io and decided to go down the mountain…

_MG_3830
Mount Neishi-dake (on the right) and the lodge. The mountain on the left of the picture is Nishiteng-dake (西天狗岳).

We backed from dangerous slope to the “Natsuzawa gap”. I checked my crampon and I found the cause of trouble. I put the crampon wrong way. So the strap was loosened.

We discussed what we do next.  We checked the map and found the mountain called “Neishi-dake (根石岳)”. This mountain was not a danger than mount Io.

_MG_3829

11:50 AM. We arrived the lodge of mount Neishi-dake.

There were two young staffs. We ate the lunch and took a rest. The outside of wind was so strong. However, we were now safe. According to this staff, almost 30 member of people were now heading to this lodge and stay tonight.

We started to go down the mountain.

14:00 PM. Finally, we arrived the parking. The top of the mountain was freezing world, but snow that covered the parking area was melting everywhere. I thought the winter was over.

_MG_3846

Next day, I went around the Chino city with my friend. He used to be live this city. And I rode the express bound for Tokyo. The winter hike was finished.

This time, I couldn’t reach the top of the mountain. I know the winter hiking is danger. However, climbing the difficult mountain is the great challenge and make sure own experiences.

The lesson: Not only buying the gear, but also practicing the gear is knowing your equipment and experience.

Thank you for reading! See you next time!

Tamaki

 

Author: Tamaki Kasuya

I'm Tamaki Kasuya. I'm CG director and making promotional video for some products in Japan. Also I love a mountain so much, so I often go to the hiking with Kari. I want to share beautiful scenery of Japan to the world. Thank you for coming and please follow my Blog!

6 thoughts on “Snow, Wind and Fear”

  1. Wow, what an excellent blog and also a great video with it. I think that Japan is a beautiful country. It is my favourite country. Seeing the picture of Shinjuku Station reminded me of when I took the Romance Car train from there. I was on my way to a festival in Hadano City. Best wishes from Dai

    Like

    1. Hi hungrydai! Nice to see you again and thank you for gave me a comment! I went to the mountain of Hakone in this April. I will post this story next!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hello Tamaki. I think I made a mistake. I did not want to disappear but all notifications stopped from you and I thought you had stopped writing in WordPress. I was wondering why you disappeared but maybe it was my mistake. But what I cannot explain is that this morning your new blog was notified to me. It is a mystery to me. Anyway, Tamaki, it’s really good to see you here again.

        Yes I will be waiting for your new blog about Hakone. I went there by train from Hadano City and there was also a festival. It was a great trip.

        Tamaki, have a pleasant day. Maybe it is already evening there in Japan and time for sake and beer, but here I am now going to eat some breakfast.

        Like

      2. Oh sorry! I was so busy on my job this six months, so I couldn’t write and check the blog! And I’m now OK, I have enough time. So I will up the next story soon! But tonight, I will drink sake and beer? lol Have a good day! Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks for the explanation, Tamaki. Now I can understand what happened. This morning I have been very busy with my AirBNB guests and their breakfasts. But sometimes I came back to my laptop to check my messages.

        I had a wonderful, young couple from France who checked out this morning. They were exceptionally nice people and I was sorry to see them leave. The lady cried when we said goodbye. I value such guests very much. Sometimes AirBNB hosting is wonderful but occasionally we get terrible guests which make the job difficult. AirBNB is a big part of my life right now so I am always terribly busy. Do Japanese people also do AirBNB there ?

        Like

      4. Wow! This France couple was so lucky! They stayed your house and spend a wonderful time!

        I guess, AirBNB is not famous in Japan yet, because the law is not enough to support these services. Same reason, Uber is not running. I think, if Japan will do Olympic in 2020 seriously, Japan has to change the law immediately.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment